NaNoWriMo Prep: 30 days of staying healthy

As a significant number of people are about to launch into the writing insanity of National Novel Writing Month, I thought I would do a post not on writing, but on health.

As someone who has been doing NaNoWriMo for a long time (over fifteen years!), I’ve learnt some hard lessons along the way. So I thought I’d wrap them up into a single post so you can learn from my mistakes rather than making them yourselves.

Preparation

 

The best way to have a comfortable and healthy month is to prepare for it. Take the time to plan your novel (if you’re a planner rather than a pantser) but also take the time to prepare your writing environment. Your wrists and neck are going to be under some strain during November, so make your set up as ergonomic as possible. If you’ve only ever written 300 words a day before, then don’t expect to write 3000 and not feel a twinge or two the following day.

Clear your calendar of other events if you can, so you don’t end up with too many competing priorities.

Diet

Writing can be an absorbing pastime. You get lost in the world you’re creating. It can be fun to get to know your characters. So much fun that you look up and it’s a lot later than you realised. Time to grab a coffee and a quick snack and keep going, right?

Wrong.

Eating a proper diet and avoiding quick and easy junk food will give you enough energy to keep going long term. Don’t make November the month of sugar highs and carb crashes. Simple, healthy meals can be planned for in advance so they don’t cut into you writing time.

Hydration

No, I don’t mean drinking endless pots of coffee. Much as I love the stuff, don’t chug it to get you through that all night writing session. Drink plenty of water and other uncaffeinated, sugar-free beverages to stay sufficiently hydrated. I’ve found this is especially important if you’re doing an early morning session as it clears the fog of sleepiness very effectively.

Sleep

Talking of sleep, make sure you get some. Finding the time to write 50,000 words means finding a lot more hours during your day. Sacrifice TV and Facebook time, not sleep. Tiredness will make the whole process of writing slower and begin a vicious cycle of struggling to hit your daily word count. Try not to deviate too much from your existing pattern and if you know that’s currently a terrible one, then don’t allow NaNo to make it worse.

Exercise and rest breaks

As well as sleep, make sure to build in some exercise time and rest breaks. Not only will your wrists appreciate it, but your eyes will too. There have also been several studies highlighting the dangers of prolonged sitting, so make sure you get up and walk around. Set a timer or alarm if you have to. It might not seem easy to stop mid-flow, but it’s better than sitting for an extended period and risking blood clots and heart attacks in later life (a bit dramatic, I know).

Mental health

Doing NaNo can be hard on your physical health, but it’s not a walk in the park for your mental health either. The pressure to finish (often self-inflicted) can lead to some serious burn out. This is often exacerbated if you haven’t done the things above to work on your physical well-being. Remember, at the end of the day, NaNoWriMo is meant to be a fun and inspiring writing experience. It’s not meant to be soul destroying. Don’t win the month, only to never want to write again.

If you start to feel upset, frustrated or unhappy, then step away from the computer. Take a break. You can come back tomorrow, the next day or not at all. It doesn’t matter. Life is too short to be made miserable by an internet competition where the only prize is to be able to say you’ve done it…

7 thoughts on “NaNoWriMo Prep: 30 days of staying healthy

  1. Time to Float

    Now, you could call us (ever so slightly) biased, but we think we can cover at least 3 of those bases for all you writers, in only one hour! Let me explain.

    We understand the dedication it requires to consistently write nearly 2000 words a day, but as Sherri rightly points out rest breaks are incredibly important.The mere act of not staring at a computer screen (and the RSI effects on your poor wrists) for a small break will give you a physical and mental break. Spending 60 minutes in a pod though, well that can make a REAL difference.

    Firstly the floatation environment provides a real break, as there is no stimulus for your overworked brain. A lot of our clients claim to fall asleep for some, if not most of a session. Because of the relaxation this causes any anxiety and frustration to be lowered, as the raised cortisol level that has been created by increased stress levels is naturally replaced by dopamines, the bodies natural feeling of happiness.

    oh, and did we mention that because you are in such a distraction-free environment, the creative part of the brain can go into overdrive??

    For all NatNoWriMo participants in 2017 we salute you for your dedication and wish you well with your endeavours. If you start to feel some of the symptoms that Sherri has laid out, we highly reccommend you come and try out Floatation – it’s exactly what your brain is asking for!

    Like

    Reply
  2. Alex

    You really make it seem really easy together with your presentation but I find this matter to be really one thing that I think I’d by no means understand. It sort of feels too complex and extremely extensive for me. I am taking a look forward to your next submit, I will attempt to get the grasp of it!

    Like

    Reply
  3. Alex

    Excellent weblog here! Additionally your site rather a lot up fast! What host are you the usage of? Can I am getting your affiliate hyperlink for your host? I want my site loaded up as fast as yours lol

    Like

    Reply
  4. Alex

    You actually make it seem really easy along with your presentation but I in finding this matter to be actually one thing that I feel I’d never understand. It seems too complex and very large for me. I’m taking a look ahead to your subsequent submit, I’ll attempt to get the grasp of it!

    Like

    Reply
  5. Alex

    I’m now not sure the place you’re getting your info, however good topic. I needs to spend a while finding out more or figuring out more. Thanks for fantastic info I was in search of this info for my mission.

    Like

    Reply
  6. Alex

    I’m now not certain the place you’re getting your info, however great topic. I must spend some time finding out more or figuring out more. Thanks for wonderful info I was on the lookout for this info for my mission.

    Like

    Reply
  7. Suzanne Travis

    It’s actually a great and helpful piece of information. I’m happy that you simply shared this helpful information with us. Please keep us informed like this. Thank you for sharing.

    Like

    Reply

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.