Climbing back on the wagon

I can’t believe it’s been four months since I last sat and wrote a post. The time just slips away when you’re not looking.

I’ve also been keeping a paper journal more rigorously, which reduces the need to blurt out my thoughts and feelings online. Which is a good thing for everyone really. Plus I’ve been away. Plus I’ve been ill. Stack it all up and I’ve had many excuses for being away from the blog space for awhile. Today, however, marks the return to climbing back on the wagon in almost every area of my life.

I’m lucky enough to have recently spent nearly two weeks in Mexico, with nothing to do but lie on the beach, read, eat nice food and have cocktails brought to me on whim. Not a bad way to live. But in all seriousness, it was a much needed break. As I wrote in my last post, I’d become overwhelmed and lost in my side projects, whilst maintaining a full time job and doing a gruelling weekly commute.

Then there’s Brexit. Don’t even get me started on this act of self-sabotage and insanity that Britain seems to thing is a good idea. It’s utter madness, but it has had the curious effect of solidifying a few things for me as I attempt to get back into a more productive routine:

  • Post holiday, it’s definitely time to get back on the sugar-free lifestyle. I feel rubbish off it, and there won’t be any money for the NHS to look after me and my sugar-related illnesses twenty years down the line the way things are going
  • Writing should be something I love, not a chore. If I don’t enjoy it, then I shouldn’t do it
  • I should possibly become less dependent on European travel. Which is fine, because Cornwall is lovely, assuming someone does something about the weather. (Also, it’s not fine really. Less freedom of movement and a spiralling pound suck)
  • Side projects can spiral out of control and suddenly become the cause of burnout. It’s not too late to think about doing less for 2016, whilst still being productive and having fun. This was an aha! moment I had whilst listening to one of my new favourite podcasts, Cortex.
  • Comfortable is easy. But at a time when the risks are at their highest, the rewards are also at their greatest. Somebody out there has to get them and it won’t be me if I flop at the end of the workday into three hours of mindless TV. Something I’ve never done until this year, I might add.

Independent of me, the remainder of 2016 will be a year of change. That genie is not going back in his bottle. So I might as well do what I can to influence the outcome I want, rather than just sit back and let stuff happen to me.

I think that’s all quite spirited and positive for the end of a Monday, even if I do say so myself.

Leave a Reply

