My favourite things about New York

With Comic Con, I have been seeing New York all over my Twitter timeline, so thought I would do a quick Throwback Thursday to one of my favourite cities in the world.

I’m lucky enough to have been to New York three times. The first time was filled with relatively unhappy memories as it was in the wake of my father’s death and I was taking his place. That still feels like a painful tug at the heart, but I’m happy I got to see New York when the twin towers were still there.

New York is the setting for at least three of the stories I’ve written and I suspect it will be in many more. It has everything you need as a backdrop.

I’ve done New York in the winter and it was the perfect place for Christmas shopping. I have to say, it was probably the one time where something was as romantic as it is portrayed in the movies. Christmas trees, the displays in Macy’s, skating in central park. Not to mention my favourite picture taken from there, a winter sunset from the Empire State Building:

Sunset in New York

For me, that photo really captures what is special about New York. It is standing there, proud on the river, no matter what, and I can’t wait to go back again.

Leave a Reply

