Throwback Thursday: Alaska

Today’s Throwback Thursday to earlier in the year, Alaska:

IMG_6192

 

 

Irrespective of anything else crazy that happened this year, Alaska has been on the cards for 2014 for a long time. Mainly because I was starting to get cynical about whether or not there would actually be any ice left if I waited until retirement. Okay, that is a gross exaggeration, but there were reminders everywhere of just how much ice has indeed receded over the past 20 years.

I was writing a story about the Alaska/Canada border while I was here, so technically this should count as research. Hopefully I managed to get more of a real feel for the place by actually being there than I would have done relying on my imagination alone.

Right in the middle of the picture you can see some mini icebergs that are the most vivid aquamarine. Maybe turquoise. It’s hard to say, because it was a colour so pure it almost defies belief. My humble iPhone fails to do it justice. But that is why I love getting into the great outdoors to experience the wonder of nature whenever I can:

IMG_6209

Leave a Reply

