Book Review: Quitter by Jon Acuff

I first read Quitter about 6 months ago whilst on a two week vacation in Spain. It had been mentioned on one of the productivity blogs I listen to (I can no longer remember which) so I thought I’d give it a go.

You see, I’ve had a dream job for as long as I can remember. Like many people who have a dream job, it is something without a definite career path or guaranteed outcome. It’s not like being a lawyer or a doctor. A lot of being an author comes down to luck and timing, which is the worst thing about it.

But in order to take the chance when it comes along, you have to be as prepared as possible. You have to have already put in the hard yards. That was what I had been doing and I knew that it was time to really build momentum.

I took heed of Chapter 1 – Don’t Quit Your Day Job, I really did. Then the universe gave me an opportunity to live just one element of my dream and so quit the day job I did.

Jon is very good in this book at not shying away from the harsh reality: there is no smooth and easy path to getting your dream job. It is not all unicorns and puppies. It is hard and it takes work. You have to be prepared to hustle. You have to have a plan. More than anything, you have to really, really want it. Enough to be prepared not just to hustle in your free time, but to appreciate the gifts that the ‘day job’ gives you. This book reminds you to have perspective when it is very easy to lose sight of it down there in the weeds.

You can find more about Jon at his website.

Leave a Reply

