Sense memory in Christchurch Botanical Gardens

It never ceases to amaze me how something can take you back so vividly and unexpectedly.

Today was a sunny day, so I went to explore Christchurch Botanical Gardens. There, in the middle, is the rose garden. I had noticed it before, but not really had chance to wander in.

I leant in to take this photograph…

rose

…and the scent that fills the air instantly takes me back to childhood.

My father was a master with roses and for a second, across the miles and the years, it felt like he was right there with me.

 

Leave a Reply

