Enjoying The End

If you are a writer, there are few things more satisfying than the moment when you can write ‘The End’ when you finish your manuscript. That is especially true when you have been working on it for (off and on) seven years.

Like pretty much every other area of my life, when it comes to writing, I am a planner. I like to know I’ve got a rough structure in place before I start. Sometimes, by the time I’m nearly done I can see that now I know my characters better the original plan isn’t going to work. That’s okay. Things can change. Structure doesn’t have to be so rigid that it stifles all possibility of creativity.

This story had been my attempt at trying something else. I had a vague idea in mind and a pretty strong sense of the opening, so I decided to wing it. Plenty of successful authors do that, I reasoned. The fact that it’s taken this long and I kept walking away from it and coming back has proven that this style just isn’t my way of doing things. However, I was determined to finish it and not have something half-written hanging around. Even if it never sees the light of day, it will not be sitting there at the back of my brain playing ‘what if’.

So, clocking in at 131,000 words and countless hours of frustration, being able to type ‘The End’ was even sweeter this time round.

Leave a Reply

